There are no products to display.

Stasi Child

David Young

"A murder in the shadow of the Berlin Wall - in a world of conspiracy and espionage, can Karin Müller find the truth?"

***WINNER OF THE CWA ENDEAVOUR HISTORICAL DAGGER***

The bestselling chilling crime thriller - perfect for fans of Child 44 and Deutschland 83


East Berlin, 1975

When Oberleutnant Karin Müller is called to investigate a teenage girl's body at the foot of the Wall, she imagines she's seen it all before. But when she arrives she realises this is a death like no other. It seems the girl was trying to escape - but from the West.

Müller is a member of the People's Police, but in East Germany her power only stretches so far. The Stasi want her to discover the identity of the girl, but assure her the case is otherwise closed - and strongly discourage her from asking questions.

The evidence doesn't add up, and it soon becomes clear the crime scene has been staged. But this is not a regime that tolerates a curious mind, and Müller doesn't realise that the trail she's following will lead her dangerously close to home . . .

Stasi Child is David Young's brilliant and page-turning debut novel.

PRAISE FOR STASI CHILD

Longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year

Times Crime Book of the Month

Telegraph Pick of the Week

'Chilling' Daily Telegraph

'Extremely engaging' Sunday Express

'Can't get enough cold-war Germany after Deutschland 83? This is your latest reading companion' Shortlist

'Superb. A thrilling Cold War mystery that reminded me of Robert Harris at his best.' - Mason Cross, author ofThe Samaritan.

'Deft, assured storytelling, a compelling new detective and a fascinating setting - I was up late to finish it!' - Gilly Macmillan, author of Burnt Paper Sky

'One of the best reads I've had in ages. With its masterful intertwining of dual storylines and its stark portrayal of life behind the Berlin Wall, this is a cracking debut.' - David Jackson, bestselling author of Cry Baby



Publication Date Paperback:Published on 11/02/2016
Paperback ISBN: 9781785770067
Publication Date Ebook:Published on 01/10/2015
Ebook ISBN: 4170

Categories

About David


David Young was born near Hull and - after dropping out of a Bristol University science degree - studied Humanities at Bristol Polytechnic. Temporary jobs cleaning ferry toilets and driving a butcher's van were followed by a career in journalism with provincial newspapers, a London news agency, and international radio and TV newsrooms. He now writes in his garden shed and in his spare time supports Hull City AFC. You can follow him on Twitter @djy_writer