There are no products to display.

Tall Oaks

Chris Whitaker

"Gripping yet hilarious, suspenseful and sad - a brilliant debut for fans of Fargo, The Dry, The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair and Noah Hawley. "

***A MISSING CHILD THRILLER WITH A DEVASTATING TWIST***

'Noir has an anarchic new voice' SARAH HILARY

'A brilliant, beautiful, sad, funny book . . . also made me cry more than any other book I've read this year' EMMA FLINT

ISN'T IT ABOUT TIME THAT YOU MADE A DATE TO VISIT TALL OAKS?

Tall Oaks is an idyllic small town, until the disappearance of a young child throws the tight-knit community into crisis.

Jess Monroe, the boy's distraught mother, is simultaneously leading the search and battling her own grief and self-destructive behaviour. Her neighbours watch on, their sympathy masking a string of dark secrets.

This is a small town where nothing is as it seems, and everyone has something to hide. And as the investigation draws towards a climax, prepare for a devastating final twist . . .

Dark, full of suspense and packed with twists, this brilliant new thriller is like nothing you've read before.


SEE WHAT THE WORLD IS ALREADY SAYING ABOUT THIS BRILLIANT DEBUT NOVEL

'An absolute delight . . . Highly original' LAURA WILSON, GUARDIAN

'Completely blew me away'
LISA HALL

'One of the best books I've read this year' JO SPAIN

'Chris Whitaker builds an entire town in the reader's head and masterfully inhabits it with comic, poignant, gripping life. Tall Oaks becomes a part of you' DAVID WHITEHOUSE

'It's rare that a novel can be both brilliantly comic and tragic, and balance the two so effortlessly' SUN

'A gripping debut' MAIL ON SUNDAY



Publication Date Paperback:Published on 08/09/2016
Paperback ISBN: 9781785770302
Publication Date Ebook:Published on 07/04/2016
Ebook ISBN: 4453

Categories

About Chris


Chris Whitaker was born in London and spent ten years working as a financial trader in the city. When not writing he enjoys football, boxing, and anything else that distracts him from his wife and two young sons. Tall Oaks is his first novel.